ALL ABOUT CUE 2014


What’s Nerdo Now?
 
I was a 1st Timer at this conference, so I wanted to make sure that I went to as many sessions as possible.  The first thing I did when the schedule was posted online was download the SCHED.  I overbooked myself incase sessions were cancelled or the room was full.  Both of which happened, so 3 cheers for being organized. I was amazed to see so many people interested in EdTech.  I believe I heard someone say that there were over 5000+ attendees. That’s INCREDIBLE!  I learned several things that I will be taking back to my classroom, but most importantly the power of Twitter.  You’d think with a name like ‘Tweten’ -pronounced Tweet’en, that I’d be a pro.
I leave my first CUE conference feeling inspired to initiate change within my classroom and share the knowledge I’ve gained with my colleagues.  I may not be able to ignite the same passion that happens after learning first hand.  BUT…  I WILL try!  I’m determined to spread ‘The Bug.’

I’m still working on gathering up my resources taken from CUE and organizing them into a more streamlined fashion than just dumping into my drive. Thanks to those who created the Master Doc in Google Drive and shared with conference attendees.  This will take me awhile to go through, but I will.  🙂

It’s Spring Break and my goal should be to do something fun, but I’m super excited to put all my new knowledge to work.  The ideas I have are dizzily spinning around in my head.  Soooooo many wonderful ideas shared from enthusiastic EdTech Gurus!
 I’m going to make myself a To Do List and a Goal List that I hope to achieve by CUE 2015.  What better way to document my progress than this blog.  I plan on making some #eduawesomesauce magic over the next year in both my classroom and personal life.
My To Do List, as of NOW are:
1. Change my Digital Image
2. Change my Twitter handle from @groovyin4th to @EdTechNerdo
3. Create a NEW blog on WordPress to reflect this change  www.twetenedtechnerdo.wordpress.com
4. Create an About.me page   http://about.me/twetentammy/#
5. Change my Instagram from Groovyin4th to @EdTechNerdo
6. Change my Pinterest from http://www.pinterest.com/groovyin4th  to http://www.pinterest.com/edtechnerdo/
Now that that’s decided and to be honest I’ve already accomplished, I plan on setting my goals for the next year.  I will adjust when needed, but for now it’s a good start.
  1. Blog-at least 1x per week*create something to build PLN  ex. Farley’s Currently
  2. Create a DSUSD # for teacher PLN w/ weekly chat
  3. ImplementStudent EdCamps
  4. Create a culture of “Nerdos” in my classroom
  5. Help students build ePortfolios
  6. Buddy up with another class in an Upper Grade to work on collaborative writing projects
  7. Implement SubText in the classroom to assist with Close Reading
  8. Build some Flipped lessons
Blogging
My sister is an avid blogger  at thislilpiglet.com.  She’s not an educator in the classroom, but she’s schooled me on several occasions on several things including baking, crafts, diy, make up, photography, and product reviews to name a few things.  Her blog has allowed her to be a stay at home mom on her farm in Central Canada.  I love hearing about her new animal ‘additions’ to the farm or her latest jam recipe created from her fresh garden produce she plants herself.  She never ceases to amaze me with her talent.
I’ve dabbled in blogging in the past, but I’ve never really had a specific direction until now.  I’m excited to streamline my social media for the purpose of providing resources, reflections, or reviews of products for those in education or more specifically EdTech.  
I’m already having my students blogging with kidblog.com/tweten606, but I want to create a professional blog that can help educate others curious about EdTEch and how it can be integrated into classroom instruction or teacher workflows.
Nerdo Creation
I think I’ve already established this within my classroom.  And… I’ve realized over the past few days with CUE that I may not be as lucky as the teacher who’s class is using Google Glass or 1:1 with iPads, but I have something pretty special with 1:1 Chromebooks.  I heard several people say they get to use them 1x a week or have a few in the class.  I can’t imagine not having 1 for every kiddo, especially after using them for the past 2 years day in and day out. Although I’ve been using Chrome and the Chromebook, I was not a Google nerdo until recently.  DSUSD is a GAFE district and students are already utilizing their Drive accounts, but with the knowledge I’ve learned in my sessions I will now be able to use the apps in some new and refreshing ways.
Twitter/Augmented Reality/Google Glass
I absolutely loved@lesliefisher’s session on the Power of Twitter.  I just loved her sense of humor.  I was a Twitter Newbie prior to attending this session.  I had an account, but I wasn’t using it.  How could I?  I didn’t know how.  I knew what a hashtag was, but had no idea what its purpose was. Now I’m hooked up and can join in on all the great twitter ed chats.  Go #CAedchat.  After being amazed in Leslie’s Twitter session I was determined to attend her other sessions.  She did not disappoint with her session on AR.  I had NO idea how cool that was going to be.  I left that session determined to buy a Playstation and a Guinness Book 2014.  No luck on the later!  B&N was sold out, except for the Spanish Version.  I guess I’ll be ordering that on Ebay.  I even have a new trick to amaze my kid with the Aura of the $1 and $20 bill.  So excited to share that with my students. I will be working on the class yearbook page next week and I’m going to turn each of their pictures into an Aura.  How cool will it be to use the Aurasma App to scan their pictures and up pops a video of the student telling their name, age, favorite subject, etc.  Google Glass was just as amazing, but also depressing.  I would love to have a pair, but $$$$ are the problem.  Maybe someday 🙂
Digital Portfolios
Amazeballs!  Sounds so simple, yet why am I not already doing this? Students need to publish their work and what a better way than in a digital portfolio where they can have an audience.  Great idea shared!  How about purchasing a child’s name domain to save their portfolio as a graduation gift.  Take Away-We need to meet kids where they ARE at.  Teachers who don’t know what a hashtag means are becoming ‘illiterate.’
My students will be creating a Google Sites Portfolio for their 3rd Trimester.  I’m also hoping to motivate my peers in 5th with 1:1 to create them with their students.  Another awesome idea was to have students create items that share their knowledge on a subject.  The example was of a kids recording a video of the ‘clearly’ parent made mission and the narration from the kid simply states the name of the mission.  It was unclear if any learning actually took place by the kid, but in another students project the kid recreated a 4-D version of the mission using Minecraft and narrated a screen cast.  The two projects were vastly different.  I know my students would love to do the later project.  I wish I had gone to her other session on SubText, but thanks to Dena Glynn in the Exhibit Hall I was able to get a CUE Tip.  I plan on using this with my kids for sure.  So cool!
Drive Accounts
If I wasn’t already 100% sure that Google Drive was awesome, I do now.  My session with Scott Bedley, Sean Ziebarth, and Bill Selak on Cross-Aged Writing Tutors was something so simple, yet ‘MAGICAL.” I think I read a Tweet today about a teacher using their drive account to collaboratively write and peer edit.  Recommendations were made to have a minimum of 250 words, but the average was over a 1,000.  I’m excited to start this process in my classroom.  Yippee!  #learningisfun
#20Time/#PassionProject/#GeniusHour/#InnovationDay/#StudentEdCamps
Each of these titles are similar, yet slightly different versions of themselves.  I currently am participating in a weekly Genius Hour with my kiddos.  They LOVE it!  Attendance is always great on Paperless Wednesday (*more to blog about that!).  The recommendation is to use technology within their projects somehow even if it’s just to present their final projects.  However, I have kids designing and creating amazing things.  I’m excited to have them Showcase their projects at the end of this year.  Although I didn’t go to a 20% time session, I did go to Dena Glynn’s session on #StudentEdCamps that have a similar feel.  I like her method, as it almost seems like a mashup of a Genius Hour idea and Centers.  Love!  Love!  Love!  Kids sharing their expertise can build so many other skills.  #studentsasteachers. Karl LS had a similar session on Innovation Day where students plan on a topic they are interested in learning about.  They prep prior to the Innovation Day, basically an on site field trip,  for approximately 2 weeks.   I plan on having this day in May, as an end of the year FUN day.
Until I blog again…  Thanks for the memories 🙂
signatureforblog.jpg

Leave a Reply

